Protection of records is mostly recommended for information types which are no more open to modifications
after a decisive point like signed contracts or invoices etc.
Note that an administrative level account in SpeedBase has the right to remove protection from a record.
As a single user of SpeedBase, you may utilize this feature to prevent accidental changes to information which is supposed to be kept as read-only.
On a multiuser environment, you may restrict the users from removing protection and use this feature for both prevent accidental and intentional modifications.
This will enable both the activity and protection control buttons on the application toolbar. You may now apply protection to a record when you are displaying a record in record details window.
Tip: After you click the protection button, you will have the chance to undo (unprotect) this action (clicking the button again) as long as current tab is not closed. Once you have closed the tab, you are no more allowed to undo.
Discarding a record is similar to canceling a contract permanently.
This action is also irreversible once the current tab displaying the protected record is closed.