User Group (Security Roles) Management


This feature is available on a multiuser environment (TeamWork edition).
User groups are used to create a certain level of access rights. It is much easier to manage security roles than managing access rights of each user seperately.

Example: Suppose that you have support team in your office but you do not want them to access information about sales or other sensitive information which they do not need for their job. But you wish them to have read-only access to customer information and read/write access to support cases information. Create a user group dedicated to support team and adjust the access permissions for the user group only. Finally add all team members to this group to apply the group rights to the support team.

In case a new member has joined the support team, it is sufficient to add him/her to the group to apply the same rights.

If you modify the access permissions of a user group, all users under that user group are affected at the same time.



Creating / Modifying User Groups

Open "Security" from main menu, click "User Groups". This will open a window where you will be able to manage user groups.

Click "Create New" button, type a "group name", check the permissions you wish to grant to this user group. Tips:




Monitor Users & Permissions: Allows the users of the group to monitor user group permissions and access rights.
Modify System Settings: Allows the group users to modify system preferences.
Configure Database: Allows the group users to modify database connection settings.
Remove Data Protection: Allows the group users to remove protection from a record which is set to the protected status.
Manage Public Views: Allows the group users to create/modify/delete all public views that are shared by all users.
Allow Custom Views: Allows the group users to create custom views dedicated to their user profile. (recommended)
Default Permissions For Record Management: Sets the default permissions of the group users to access information in your database. These permissions are valid for all catalogs and field of the database. You can always create exceptions to overwrite them on catalog, field or user level.

Tip: If you plan to grant full access to most of the information in your database, check all the default permissions and create access right exceptions for the catalogs you wish to restrict. On the other hand, if you plan to only grant access to a few information in your database, uncheck all the default permissions and create access right exceptions for the catalogs you wish to grant access.

Adding/Removing a User To/From a User Group

Open user groups window, select the user group you wish to modify, click "modify" button, click the "group members" tab on the "user group properties" window. To add a user, click "add" button and select the user. To remove a user select the user from member list and click "remove" button.

If you add a user to a second user group, the user rights are elevated to gain the extra rights coming from the second group.
If you remove a user from a user group, the user loses all added rights he/she gained from that user group.

Creating Access Right Exceptions For a User Group

The (data) access rights of the group users are determined by the group settings. However, you may still create exceptions which will overwrite the rights gained/lost thru group settings.

To do this, select the user group from the user group list, click "access rights" button and create the exception you need using "access rights manager".
See "Advanced Access Rights Manager" for more info.

Deactivating a User Group

You may deactivate a user group by unchecking the "user group is active" checkbox. This will disable all rights gained from this user group.

Deleting a User Group

To delete a user group, select the user group from the user group list, click "delete group" button.

Deleting the the user group "system administrators" is not allowed.

Online Help Home Page   ::   SpeedBase Software Home Page